Sun-dried Tomato Hummus

Creamy, classic, and crave-worthy, hummus is practically a staple at my house.

Naturally, I simply can’t think of a better recipe to start my box with. A recipe box seems like the definitive way to keep track of favorite foods. I like to have hard copies of my recipes and now I’ll have the perfect place to store them!

Here it is!

Here it is!

Now back to the matter at hand: hummus.

HummusThis recipe is inspired by the formula in Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty.

http://www.ottolenghi.co.uk/
Ingredients:
(Keep in mind, this is hummus. I’ve listed the proportions that I use, but everything can and should be adjusted to taste.)

  • 3 cans of chickpeas
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • about 3/4 cup tahini
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • (almost) 1 jar of sun-dried tomatoes in oil (drain before adding)
  • water
  • optional: a couple chickpeas, sun-dried tomatoes, or some smoked or standard paprika to garnish

I make my hummus in a food processor. It’s quick, clean, easy, and oh so satisfying. This recipe makes quite a large quantity of hummus but it keeps for a week in the fridge, and likely won’t last that long, anyways!

1. Completely pulverize the garlic. (Finding a chuck of raw garlic in a bite of smooth, scrumptious hummus is a nasty surprise – I speak from personal experience, unfortunately.)

2. Throw in the chickpeas and sun-dried tomatoes, followed by the tahini.

3. Add lemon to taste. (I add lots of lemon to cut the amount of salt I need. For some reason, the sharp tang of lemon juice renders salt unnecessary.)

4. Now it’s texture time. Adding a little water at time (no more than 1/4 cup), pulse the food processor and adjust the texture to taste.

Hummus Again

Served with warm pita, I guarantee it will be a hit.

Pita

Hummus at Hand

Hummus gets eaten

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Sun-dried Tomato Hummus

  1. […] signature sun-dried tomato hummus got rave […]

Leave a Reply

