Cookie Bowls

This weekend, I was trolling around the internet looking for desert ideas for a nice home-cooked meal when I ran across some luscious looking cookie bowls. I read through a few recipes, but most seemed to be either sugar-cookie bowls or chocolate chip ones made with margarine. Ich. I wanted something chocolate, without compromising flavor. So, I opted for my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe of all the time: the classic Joy of Cooking model.

Cookie Bowls

First, I made the batter just as I would have for normal cookies, decreasing the butter a little to make the dough a little stiffer and thus more likely to hold a bowl-like shape.

DSC_0912

I did not, however, lessen the amount of chocolate. A full cup went into this dough.

DSC_0916

Next, I rolled my dough, that is, what was left of it, into a log and set in the freezer to toughen up a bit. Cookies are good, but dough is better. With my sister and mother circling the bowl like vultures, a good chunk of it definitely disappeared during transfer.

Ok… maybe I had something to do with that too…

DSC_0923

A few hours later, out came the log. It was time to experiment. As dictated by some of the recipes I found online, I took out a cupcake tray, turned it upside down, and covered a few of the molds with tin foil. I then molded cookie dough over these mound… and promptly consumed the remaining morsels.

DSC_0926 DSC_0927

When the bowls came out, the results were, shall we say, interesting.

DSC_0940

Oozing over the baking sheet, they almost looked alive.

DSC_0941 DSC_0943

Some of them were not as bowl-ish as I would have hoped.

DSC_0964

Others actually came out pretty well, although I have to admit that taking the foil off them was a real effort.

DSC_0966 DSC_0970 DSC_0972

Recipe:

Adapted from The Joy of Cooking

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2/3 stick butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • vanilla!

1. Preheat the oven to 375ºF.

2. Mix the flour and baking soda.

3. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and add both sugars.

4. Next, beat in the egg, salt, and vanilla, followed by the flour mixture and chocolate chips. (For the record, lessening the chocolate chips might make the cookie bowls hold up better – not a compromise I was willing to make.)

5. Turn a muffin tin upside down on a cookie sheet and cover 5 or 6 of the metal mounds with tin foil.

6. Mold cookie dough onto the mounds.

7. Cook. Start with 12 minutes, rotating the tray halfway through. I generally undercook cookies because I like them doughier and chewier. In this case, however, cooking them for longer will yield more bowl-like cookies. Cook them until golden brown.

8. Let the bowls cool completely before peeling off the foil.

9. Invert, add ice cream, and enjoy this over-the-top dessert!

DSC_0973

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

