Spectacular Sakura

DSC_2138

It’s truly spring in Tokyo. Sakura are everywhere: in every park, down every back street, lining every avenue. Today, I played hooky from school and went out to admire the blossoms before whisking off on a plane to Canada that night. A easy, breezy walk away, Aoyama Bochi (Aoyama Cemetary) has some of the prettiest blooms. I couldn’t stop snapping pictures, so here are a few favorites:

DSC_2140 DSC_2148 DSC_2153 DSC_2154 DSC_2157 DSC_2158 DSC_2160 DSC_2167

Even though it was a sleepy Friday morning, I was not the only enamored flower admirer with a camera.

DSC_2168

Ohanami, or flower-viewing, is a spring tradition. The Bochi is a popular spot, with picnickers flooding its pathways every weekend. I couldn’t believe how lucky I was to get it all (or almost all) to myself.

DSC_2174

Sakura season is ephemeral. The cherry blossoms bloom and then disappear within two weeks, leaving behind piles of petals for a few more days before those, too, vanish to make room for more summery specimens.

DSC_2182 DSC_2187DSC_2119

My sister loves the photo. (She insisted I include it in my sakura-sum-up.)

DSC_2190

Wandering away from the Bochi, I passed my favorite art museum in the city: the National Art Center, Tokyo. It brings in exhibits from major galleries around the world and is less than a hop, skip, and a jump from home. With an architect for a mother, I can’t help but absolutely adore the space’s sleek silhouette and dramatic interior.

DSC_2200 DSC_2201 DSC_2208

The current exhibit: California Design – 1930~1965. I had to see it. With furniture, objects, and even swimsuits from that period, the show was enthralling. I have already promised to return with my mother and sister before it closes in June. If you’re in Tokyo and appreciate classy design, I highly recommend it!

DSC_2214DSC_2176

All in all, it was sunny, splendid day!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spectacular Sakura

  1. […] trees 谷中の桜; obsession with sakura flowers :p; yozakura; sakura spotting in naka-meguro; spectacular sakura; geisha; spring (prelude); via robin; sakura 桜; ueno park; blossoms this weekend; cherry blossom […]

Leave a Reply

