Sweet Arabic Eats

One of the most exciting aspects of travel is the food, and especially the sweets. Naturally, upon arriving in Dubai, I had to investigate.

DSC_1918

Wandering around in the older part of town, we came across Strange General Trading. It sounded like the perfect place to pinpoint some local treats.

DSC_1920 DSC_1923

Sesame halva, or as it is called in the UAE, helwa. The store owners gave us samples of this chewy candy. Unlike the tahini-based confections I was used to, this helwa was flour-based and kind of gelatinous. It was good, but I have to admit, I’m still a die-hard tahini loyalist!

DSC_1924 DSC_1925

Much of the Dubai I saw felt sort of overly grandiose and ersatz. But not ‘Strange General Trading.’ It was us and the locals.

DSC_1928

Strange General Trading had quite the saffron selection, one sachet of which had to come home with me.

DSC_1929

Later in the trip, during our desert excursion, I sampled a sweet that seemed to be a sort of dough puff coated in sugary syrup. I don’t know what they’re called but they certainly were delicious!

DSC_2020DSC_2023

Dried dates are good, but everything is better when covered in chocolate.

DSC_2108

After the concert, hungry musicians flocked to tables of baklava and other nutty confections.

DSC_2082

Of course, I couldn’t go home empty handed. So, I carefully stowed a box of tahini halva (4 different kinds!) from Strange General Trading in the middle of my lime green suitcase.

DSC_2102

Half of it disappeared the night I returned. It was a hit – the best halva I’ve ever tasted!

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sweet Arabic Eats

  1. Strange General Trading is a fantastic name for a store.

  2. beth says:

    Yum.

    And what about savory stuff?

Leave a Reply

